Monkey Man

Dev Patel proves himself as a more than capable director with his directorial debut, “Monkey Man.” This movie is clearly such a passion project and I really could see that through the whole time. The movie boasts two spellbinding extended action sequences that make the trip to the theater completely worth it. I do feel the story could have been a bit tighter and paced a bit better, but the action scenes are such great payoff that I didn’t mind. The fact that Dev Patel was able to work behind the camera and also star in a movie of this nature is astounding. Overall, it is a very entertaining movie with some solid ideas and storytelling to back up the fights, making the stakes real and maximizing my investment in the main character. I am looking forward to seeing Patel direct something again soon after how impressed I was with this one.

4/5 STARS

Image: https://www.nytimes.com/2024/04/04/movies/monkey-man-review-dev-patel.html

Leave a comment