Rebel Moon – Part Two: The Scargiver

Zack Snyder is one of the most polarizing directors out there, and these “Rebel Moon” movies really have solidified that. I don’t think they are great or anything, but I do feel like I am of the opinion that they are not that bad. Snyder has always been a filmmaker who creates movies that feel like style over substance, and in “The Scargiver” I feel like there really is minimal substance. The issue with this movie is that it just feels like the final act of a movie forcibly drawn out to feature length. The first half of the movie is just explaining character motivations and giving more exposition. The last half of the movie is actually pretty entertaining and I enjoyed the action here. Overall, I think if you like Snyder’s visual and action-heavy style, there is something to enjoy here, but from a storytelling perspective these movies definitely are among the messiest films he’s done until now.

3/5 STARS

Image: https://deadline.com/2024/04/rebel-moon-the-scargiver-review-zack-snyders-space-opera-descends-further-black-hole-nothingness-1235889865/

Leave a comment