Turtles All the Way Down

I read “Turtles All the Way Down” when I did a deep dive into all of John Green’s books and this one was the newest at the time. I don’t think the book is as strong as some of his other work, but I know how personal this story was for him and it’s always felt like an honest portrayal of OCD. I do think the book is very good from what I remember, but I think this is one of the weaker adaptations. The main character in this story faces a lot of internal conflict and I think it can be tough to portray that in a movie format. I still think Isabela Merced was a great choice for Aza, I just think the story itself never really came together that strongly. I felt I should have been experiencing more emotions and even the ending sequence, which I actually really liked, didn’t hit as effectively as it should. Nonetheless, as a John Green fan, I admire this story and what it tries to do and while it isn’t my personal favorite, I still think it is okay overall.

3/5 STARS

Image: https://www.teenvogue.com/story/turtles-all-the-way-down-movie-everything-you-need-to-know

Leave a comment