Ghost in the Shell (1995)

“Ghost in the Shell” is a very famous anime movie from the 90s that I finally got around to watching. I can see the appeal of the movie as it is very slick, cool, and inventive, especially for the time. The movie still feels very futuristic today and I found myself engaged with it. I will be honest there is a lot going on and it is pretty complex considering it throws you into this world, but I definitely think it could be an interesting one to analyze and rewatch down the line. I don’t think anyone should go into it expecting a straight-action movie, as there are a lot of elements at play, but I will also say the action sequences and overall vibe are what I liked the most. Overall, it is a fascinating anime movie that was a pivotal part of influencing the genre and culture of the time, and anime fans shouldn’t miss it.

3.5/5 STARS

Image: https://www.vox.com/2017/4/4/15138682/ghost-in-the-shell-anime-philosophy

Leave a comment